Tuesday, December 08, 2009

Other News on Telangana Agitation

Other related developments on Telangana agitation:

* Industrialists from the Charlapalli Industrial Area (in Hyderabad) took out a rally in support of a separate Telangana State. They alleged that the loss that Telangana suffered due to the merger with Andhra can never be gained and atleast now, the Government should pave way for a separate state.

* Tension prevailed at Nizams Institute for Medical Sciences here at Hyderabad when Telugu Desam Party (TDP) supremo, Chandra Babu Naidu visited KCR to express his solidarity. TDP Party is seen as a party which fights for a united state. They have changed their stance recently but doubts persist.

* Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders conducted a "sit in" opposite the Hyderabad Collectorate demanding the creation of Telangana immediately. BJP leader Mr. Venkaiah Naidu raised the issue of Telangana in the Rajya Sabha (Upper House of Parliament) yesterday while another leader, Ms.Sushma Swaraj raised the issue in the Lok Sabha (Lower House of Parliament). They demanded that the Government bring out a Bill for a separate state.

* Yesterday, police shamelessly Lathi Charged (caned) pro-Telangana students who have sit in for a relay hunger strike in the Osmania University Campus. The Police also attacked the journalists who were covering this incident. This created a tense situation and the Government had promptly transferred the Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP), Mr.Stephen Ravindra.

* The group of ministers from Telangana has heightened the pitch of their confrontation with the Chief Minister, Mr K. Rosaiah, by threatening to quit their posts in support of the ongoing agitation.

The ‘pressure group’ that includes the home minister, Ms P. Sabita Indra Reddy, Mr K. Venkata Reddy (IT), Ms K. Sunitha Lakshmareddy (minor irrigation), Mr D. Sridhar Babu (higher education), Mrs D.K. Aruna (small industries) and Mr B. Sudarshan Reddy (medical education) has been vigorously opposing the Chief Minister’s strategy on Telangana.

On Monday, the gulf between the group and the Chief Minister widened after police caned students in Osmania University.

There were also heated discussions between ministers from other regions and the pressure group at the informal cabinet meeting held on Sunday.

Other Telangana ministers such as Mr Ponnala Lakshmaiah, Dr J. Geetha Reddy, Mr D. Nagender, Mr Mukesh Goud, Mr D. Rajanarasimha and Mr R. Venkata Reddy have sought to distance themselves from the pressure group.

These ministers had earlier turned down the proposal to go to Congress chief, Mrs Sonia Gandhi, as a delegation to persuade her to resolve the Telangana issue.



Post a Comment

<< Home